View unanswered posts
View active topics
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:23 pm


Author Message
Jakub_Strauss
Post  Post subject: How to edit FurryBall output PATHS?  |  Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:07 pm
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:15 pm
Posts: 94

Offline
Hi,
I would like to introduce you one little trick with FB env. output variables and I hope it can make your work with FurryBall a little bit easier.

Every time you write a word starting with $ to output path in outputSettings node, FB try to parse this word like a envVar defined in scripts/furryBallEnvVar.py.
So if you want to define your own envVars it's very simple. I will show you how on two simple examples:

Quote:
a) I use D:/Data/Maya/Projects/Work/, every time, so, how to convert it to something more simple, like $WORK?

1)First, ideally make some backup of scripts/furryBallEnvVar.py and after open it in any text editor(like Maya script editor).

2)Add your keyword to variables section:
Code:
class furryBallEnvVar:
   def __init__(self, initValues):
      self.variables = [
            '$MAYA_PROJECT',
            '$SCENE_NAME',
            '$RENDER_SETTINGS',
            '$OUTPUT_SETTINGS',
            '$FB_VERSION',
            '$WORK'
            ]

3)Add new method with the same name to furryBallEnvVar class(Only attach this code to the bottom of the script):
Code:
   def WORK(self):
      return "D:/Data/Maya/Projects/Work/"

4)Save script, restart Maya and set your output path to something like $WORK/Test, enjoy ;) .

Quote:
b)How to write the exact time with decimal point to the picture name?

Second example is little bit more complicated, and is better to have some experiences with python scripting in Maya.. It will allow you to substitute four digit time padding(####) with float representation of time :)

First, choose the keyword, for example TIME and do the same like in previous example.
The only different is in point three:
Code:
   def TIME(self):
      result = str(cmd.currentTime(q=1))
      return result

How you can see with these environment variables you are able to dynamically set name of your out file to everything what you can imagine :D

Enjoy


Top
Jakub_Strauss
Post  Post subject: Re: How to edit FurryBall output PATHS?  |  Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:17 pm
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:15 pm
Posts: 94

Offline
Hi,
A little advice for people who are beginners with python:
Code:
"      "(tabulator) 

is not the same like:
Code:
"      "(few spaces)


Especially in Maya Script Editor this is really big trouble. So better is to check all your edits in some Python editor (Wing IDE, Eclipse), general text editor (Notepad++, PSPad) or simply in some editor which can show you white space characters differently (OpenOffice). Otherwise you may end up with Maya/Python complaining about identation and FurryBall crashing.

regards


Top
sersia
Post  Post subject: Re: How to edit FurryBall output PATHS?  |  Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 8:58 am

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:41 am
Posts: 71

Offline
It is really great information. Thanks~


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Print view

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Jump to:   
cron

Delete all board cookies | The team | All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
DAJ Glass 2 template created by Dustin Baccetti