View unanswered posts
View active topics
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 2:26 am


*  Forum rules
How to submit your problem
Be sure that you use the latest graphics card drivers before you post your problem.
Please follow these steps for submitting your problems to FurryBall forum - it will help faster solve your problem.
1) Send System Info: FurryBall HWID, FurryBall version, graphics card, graphics card drivers version, Maya version, operating system
2) Send Log from Maya output window
4) Describe deeply your problem. If your FurryBall STOPPED rendering, describe what was changed in your computer (new hardware, new software installation)
5) You can also send simple example (picture or scene)
Also be sure that you readed FAQ

Author Message
indigogame
Post  Post subject: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:23 pm

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:12 pm
Posts: 5

Offline
Hello
I have a problem. The decision could not be found in the help. I can not connect and see the displacement map
Write a small instruction how to make the connection displacement map for what to see the result. For example, what format the texture should use tiff or tga? Where to connect these textures? What should be included that would see the displacement map?
Previously, very grateful for the answers.


Top
sersia
Post  Post subject: Re: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:16 pm

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:41 am
Posts: 71

Offline
You can use this image format BMP, JPEG, PNG, DDS, TIFF, GIF, WMP for FurryBall.

Did you turn on Subdivision function in FurryBall's mesh Node?

SUBDIVISION - Subdivision parameter used for subdivisions and displacement mapping. Note that these attributes have effect only if Reflections feature is enabled in currently active render node (see Render Settings Node section) and DirectX 11 capable graphics card is used for rendering.

And as you read you need DirectX 11 capable graphics card for displacement map.

If you are ready Just using Displacement mat. in Shading Group Attributes with normal maya shader.

That is all for Displacement map.


Last edited by sersia on Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
indigogame
Post  Post subject: Re: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:01 pm

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:12 pm
Posts: 5

Offline
sersia wrote:
You can use this image format BMP, JPEG, PNG, DDS, TIFF, GIF, WMP for FurryBall.

Did you turn on Subdivision function in FurryBall's mesh Node?

SUBDIVISION - Subdivision parameter used for subdivisions and displacement mapping. Note that these attributes have effect only if Reflections feature is enabled in currently active render node (see Render Settings Node section) and DirectX 11 capable graphics card is used for rendering.

And as you can read you need DirectX 11 capable graphics card for displacement map.

If you are ready Just using Displacement mat. in Shading Group Attributes with normal maya shader.

That is all for Displacement map.



I checked and did everything as you wrote - but I still no results.
I do not tedious, but I ask you to do a little guide with screenshots
It is very important for the achievement for me


Top
Jan_Tomanek
Post  Post subject: Re: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:11 pm
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:03 pm
Posts: 1607
Location: Prague - Czech republic

Offline
Do you have DX11 card?

_________________
Thank you for contacting us.
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

All the Best
Jan


Top
indigogame
Post  Post subject: Re: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:14 pm

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:12 pm
Posts: 5

Offline
Jan_Tomanek wrote:
Do you have DX11 card?


yes


Top
indigogame
Post  Post subject: Re: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:22 pm

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:12 pm
Posts: 5

Offline
indigogame wrote:
Jan_Tomanek wrote:
Do you have DX11 card?


yes


I have now, this GeForce GTX480 it supports dx11


Top
sersia
Post  Post subject: Re: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:25 pm

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:41 am
Posts: 71

Offline
As you can see I've used just two nodes for displacement map.

And turn on Subdivision feature in RENDER SETTINGS NODE.

FEATURES - There are many check boxes in the first part of this section, these globally enable or disable rendering of various effects or features. In general to render some effect in FurryBall this effect has to be properly set up in its node (eg. reflection map for a shape in a mesh node), sometimes an extra attribute needs to be adjusted (eg. reflected color for the shape's material) and global feature switch has to be enabled (eg. reflections here in render node). These global switches are useful for tuning particular effects or to see a performance hit of a feature.

Textures - Enable or disable rendering of all textures connected to any color related attribute.
Bump Mapping - Enable or disable bump mapping.
Shadows - Enable or disable shadow rendering for all lights with shadows enabled.
Hair - Enable or disable hair rendering of all hair systems in scene.
Reflections - Enable or disable reflections rendering for all objects with reflections enabled.
Transparency / Refractions - Enable or disable rendering with transparency and refractions.
Ambient Occlusion - Enable or disable ambient occlusion rendering.
Color Bleeding - Enable or disable color bleeding effect.
Depth Of Field - Enable or disable depth of field effect for a camera with DOF enabled.
Subsurface Scattering - Enable or disable rendering of SSS shaders if any.
Subdivision - Enable or disable rendering with subdivisions and displacement maps if any (DirectX 11 capable GPU required).

with the lastest Graphic Card Driver.

I think this is all for me.


Attachments:
dis.jpg
dis.jpg [ 110.01 KiB | Viewed 12783 times ]
dismap.jpg
dismap.jpg [ 203.63 KiB | Viewed 12783 times ]
Top
drido
Post  Post subject: Re: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 8:29 pm

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 2:39 pm
Posts: 7

Offline
Same problem here :(

I''m pretty sure I run DX11 and set up everything as described.

Any more ideas?

btw: Furryball rocks, really nice work man 8-)


ps: for some reason, the Subdivision checkbox for my Rendersettings Node is behaving strangely:
After unchecking it, it doesnt let me turn it on again...

Was it ever on?????


Top
Pavel_Hradsky
Post  Post subject: Re: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:25 am
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 12:28 pm
Posts: 348
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Offline
drido, indigogame, still no success?
The displacement map should be a grayscale texture (a heightmap, although colour textures should work too), preferably JPEG, PNG or DDS.
Also try looking into the console output and the script window, if it doesn't report some errors.


Top
drido
Post  Post subject: Re: I can not connect and see the displacement map  |  Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:52 pm

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 2:39 pm
Posts: 7

Offline
My bad, I thought my Quadro FX 5800 would run DX11 for its price, but apparently it doesnt :oops:

Will try soon with something more sophisticated, thanks for the feedback!


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Print view

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Jump to:   
cron

Delete all board cookies | The team | All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
DAJ Glass 2 template created by Dustin Baccetti